Advocates for Child Soldiers

Thursday, July 12, 2007

Human Rights Watch (HRW ) News

From Human Rights Watch

Call Your Senator – Stop US Funding of Child Soldiers
National Phone-In Day, JULY 12, 2007

Restrict US Military Assistance to Governments Using Child Soldiers

On July 12, please take a moment to phone and ask your senator to support S. 1175, the Child Soldier Prevention Act of 2007. This important legislation would restrict US military financing, training and arms transfers to governments that are involved in the recruitment and use of child soldiers.

Of nine governments worldwide implicated in the recruitment or use of children as soldiers, eight currently receive US military assistance. US tax dollars should not be used to support the exploitation of children as soldiers. US weapons should not end up in the hands of children.

The Child Soldier Prevention Act was introduced by Senators Richard Durbin (D-IL) and Sam Brownback (R-KS), and is already co-sponsored by over a dozen other US senators, including both Republicans and Democrats. We need additional co-sponsors to get the bill passed.

Please Call Your Senators on July 12.

Sample message:
“My name is ____, and I’m calling from (town/city, state). I’m very concerned about the recruitment and use of child soldiers around the world. I am calling because I would like the senator to co-sponsor S. 1175, the Child Soldier Prevention Act. I believe this bill can make a difference in ending the use of
child soldiers, and believe it deserves the Senator’s support.”

Calls to senate offices are usually taken by receptionists who briefly note the topic you are calling on. You will not be asked for detailed information.

Find your senators’ phone numbers at:

Senators who have already co-sponsored the bill (as of July 2, 2007):
Bingaman (D-NM), Boxer (D-CA), Brownback (R-KS), Casey (D-PA), Coburn (R-OK), Cochran (R-MS), Durbin (D-IL), Feingold (D-WI), Feinstein (D-CA), Johnson (D-SD), Kerry (D-MA), Menendez (D-NJ), Mikulski (D-MD), Reed (D-RI), Roberts (R-KS), Snow (R-ME).

We particularly encourage calls to members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee who have not yet co-sponsored the bill:

Benjamin Cardin (D-MD) (202) 224-4524
Norm Coleman (R-MN) (202) 224-5641
Bob Corker (R-TN) (202) 224-3344
Jim DeMint (R-SC) (202) 224-6121
Christopher Dodd (D-CT) (202) 224-2823
Chuck Hagel (R-NE) (202) 224-4224
Johnny Isakson (R-GA) (202) 224-3643
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) (202) 224-6665
Bill Nelson (D-FL) (202) 224-5274
Barack Obama (D-IL) (202) 224-2854
John Sununu (R-NH) (202) 224-2841
David Vitter (R-LA) (202) 224-4623
George Voinovich (R-OH) (202) 224-3353
Jim Webb (D-VA) (202) 224-4024

Thank you for your time.
Your call WILL make a difference.

No comments: